Preliminary 2020 Cardinals Spring Training Broadcast Schedule

Note: Multiple updates made to the Cardinals spring television schedules since this article was originally published can be found here:

Cardinals Announce 2020 Spring TV and Radio Schedule



Every spring, one of my self-assigned and enjoyable tasks is to scan the broadcast schedules of the St. Louis Cardinals’ spring training opponents as they are announced to create something that is not available in one place anywhere else.

What follows is a list of all known Cardinals spring television games, whether the broadcast originates from the Cardinals side, from their opponents or via a national network. After all, if you are like me, following the long winter, you have a thirst to watch any St. Louis Cardinals action, no matter who is at the mike.

I am out ahead of the game this year, as the Cardinals’ spring television schedule has not yet been jointly announced by the team and FOX Sports Midwest. KMOX Radio has also not yet disclosed its slate of games from Florida. Last year, they broadcast 19 contests.

Yet, since we are just three weeks until the Grapefruit League opener, it is time to get preliminary information out there.

So far, three St. Louis’ spring opponents’ television schedules are known and two have announced radio plans.

Specifically, among the Marlins, Braves and Astros, we already know that seven Cardinals games will be televised. This includes four shared feed games between FOX Sports Florida and Midwest plus three unique telecasts. The latter include two against Houston on ATT Sportsnet Southwest – on February 26 and March 16 – and one versus Atlanta on FOX Sports Southeast on March 19.

Of course, this list will be updated – probably doubling the number of TV games – once FSM as well as the Mets, Nationals, Twins and Red Sox disclose their Grapefruit League plans.

For reference, FOX Sports Midwest, the television home of the Cardinals, covered 15 spring training games in both 2018 and 2019 – roughly half of the schedule – so there is still plenty more to come. The Cardinals made their joint FSM and KMOX announcement last year on January 31.

On the national front, there is more to come, as well. ESPN’s early spring schedule has not yet been released. MLB Network will certainly add a number of contests, but generally, they are team feeds. MLB Network games are often telecast on a delayed basis, which can be valuable if you miss a game live and watch to catch up later on.

Day                          Date                  Opponent            Location Time StL TV Other TV Audio
Sat 22 Feb New York Mets Jupiter 1:05
Sun 23 Feb at New York Mets Pt. St. Lucie 1:10 WCBS
Mon 24 Feb at Miami Marlins Jupiter** 1:05 FS Midwest FS Florida
Tue 25 Feb Wash. Nationals Jupiter 1:05
Wed 26 Feb Miami Marlins Jupiter 1:05
at Houston Astros West Palm 1:05 ATT Snet SW
Thu 27 Feb at Atlanta Braves North Port 1:05
Fri 28 Feb at New York Mets Pt St. Lucie 1:10
Sat 29 Feb Wash. Nationals Jupiter 1:05
Sun 01 Mar at Houston Astros West Palm 1:05
Mon 02 Mar Minnesota Twins Jupiter 1:05
Tue 03 Mar Houston Astros Jupiter 1:05
Wed 04 Mar at New York Mets Pt. St. Lucie 1:10
Thu 05 Mar New York Mets Jupiter 1:05
at Wash. Nationals West Palm 6:05
Fri 06 Mar OPEN DATE
Sat 07 Mar Houston Astros Jupiter 1:05
Sun 08 Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter 1:05 FS Midwest FS Florida
Mon 09 Mar at Minnesota Twins Fort Myers 1:05
Tue 10 Mar at Boston Red Sox Fort Myers 1:05
Wed 11 Mar at New York Mets Pt. St. Lucie 1:10
Thu 12 Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter 1:05 FS Midwest FS Florida
Fri 13 Mar Houston Astros Jupiter 1:05
Sat 14 Mar at Miami Marlins Jupiter** 1:05 FS Midwest FS Florida
Sun 15 Mar Boston Red Sox Jupiter 1:05
Mon 16 Mar at Houston Astros West Palm 1:05 ATT Snet SW
Tue 17 Mar OPEN DATE
Wed 18 Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter 1:05
Thu 19 Mar Atlanta Braves Jupiter 1:05 FS Southeast WIFN
Fri 20 Mar New York Mets Jupiter 6:05
Sat 21 Mar at Miami Marlins Jupiter** 7:05
Sun 22 Mar at Wash. Nationals West Palm 1:05
Mon 23 Mar at Texas Rangers Arlington, TX 7:05

** Cardinals are “away” team at Roger Dean
(Times are local – ET for Florida and CT in Texas)


Bonus for members of The Cardinal Nation

2020 St. Louis Cardinals Minor League Spring Training Game Schedule


Not yet a member?

Join The Cardinal Nation for the most comprehensive coverage of the St. Louis Cardinals from the majors through the entire minor league system.


Now Available! – TCN’s New 2020 Prospect Guide

232 pages, 97,000 words, over 60 player capsules, history and much more – in both PDF and spiral-bound book versions. Foreword by Dan McLaughlin. Order your copy today!

Brian Walton can be reached via email at brian@thecardinalnation.com. Follow Brian on Twitter.

© 2020 The Cardinal Nation, thecardinalnation.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.