MLB Recreates a 58-Game Season for the Cardinals

Major League Baseball release

Major League Baseball today (Friday, August 14) announced that the St. Louis Cardinals will return to the field tomorrow in a doubleheader against the Chicago White Sox at Guaranteed Rate Field in Chicago. Today’s originally scheduled game against the White Sox will be made up as part of the doubleheader beginning at 1:10 p.m. (ET)/12:10 p.m. (CT). Sunday’s contest between the Clubs remains as scheduled for 2:10 p.m. (ET)/1:10 p.m. (CT).

Additionally, MLB announced several rescheduling updates for the Cardinals, Chicago Cubs, Pittsburgh Pirates and Minnesota Twins following the postponement of the last weekend’s Cardinals-Cubs series, as well as this week’s postponed games between the Cardinals and Pirates.

CHI @ STL

— The three game series between the Cardinals and Cubs, which was originally scheduled for August 7th-9th at Busch Stadium, will be rescheduled as part of three doubleheaders at Wrigley Field.

— Each doubleheader will consist of the originally scheduled game at Wrigley, as well as one make-up from last weekend’s scheduled series. Since the make-ups are Cardinals home games, the Cubs will be the home team for Game 1 of each doubleheader, while the Cardinals will be the home team for Game 2 of each doubleheader.

  1. The first doubleheader will be played on Monday, August 17th beginning at 5:15 p.m. (ET)/4:15 p.m. (CT).
  2. The second will be played on Wednesday, August 19th beginning at 2:20 p.m. (ET)/1:20 p.m. (CT).
  3. The third will be played on Saturday, September 5th beginning at 5:15 p.m. (ET)/4:15 p.m. (CT).

STL @ PIT

— The three game series between the Cardinals and Pirates, which was originally scheduled for August 10th-12th at Busch Stadium, will be rescheduled as part of two doubleheaders.

  1. The first will be played on Thursday, August 27th at Busch Stadium beginning at 3:15 p.m. (ET)/2:15 p.m. (CT). This was a mutual off-day for both Clubs and the doubleheader will make up the games from August 10th and August 11th.
  2. The second will be played on Friday, September 18th at PNC Park beginning at 4:05 p.m. (ET)/3:05 p.m. (CT). The Pirates will be the home team for Game 1, which is the originally scheduled game, and the Cardinals will be the home team for Game 2, which will make up the game from August 12th.

MIN @ STL

— In an effort to create an additional off-day for the Cardinals in September, the two-game series between the Cardinals and Minnesota Twins at Busch Stadium, scheduled for Tuesday, September 8th and Wednesday, September 9th, will now be played as a doubleheader on Tuesday, September 8th beginning at 3:15 p.m. (ET)/2:15 p.m. (CT).

The postponed doubleheader between the Cardinals and Detroit Tigers, originally scheduled for Thursday, August 13th, will be rescheduled at a later date.

Brian Walton’s take

This restores a 58-game schedule for St. Louis, with the door open to make up the final two games vs. Detroit if necessary. The Cardinals will play 21 games in August, including four doubleheaders, and the remaining 32 contests in the first 27 days of September. The final month’s docket includes seven twin-bills and the only two days scheduled off until the regular season concludes.

One anomaly is that all 10 games against the Cubs will be played at Wrigley Field. There is a logical explanation for this. The original schedule had the teams playing one series in St. Louis and two in Chicago. The St. Louis set was to be first, but it was wiped out last weekend, so the make up games were jammed into the two remaining series. Minimizing extra travel is very important with so many games in such a short time window.

In terms of physical locales, Busch Stadium will be the site of 27 games with 31 to be held in other ballparks. FWIW, the Cardinals will bat last in their designated home games while on the road, as noted in the above release.

But anyone complaining about these or other schedule inequities – whether pro or con – needs to regain perspective. This is 2020, after all. Instead of grousing, let’s admire the efforts being made to play the games.

Of course, this new plan assumes no further COVID interruptions from the Cardinals or any of their opponents and cooperation from the weather gods. Already, the White Sox moved up the start time of Saturday’s Game 1 due to the forecast.

(Right click on the image, select “open in new tab” and save or print the file as you choose.)


Related articles from Thursday

St. Louis Cardinals to Resume Saturday with Five New Players

Top Prospect Carlson Headlines Reinforcements Joining Cardinals


Exclusive for members of The Cardinal Nation

St. Louis Cardinals Draft Recap 2009-2019 – 10th Round


Not yet a member?

Join The Cardinal Nation for the most comprehensive coverage of the St. Louis Cardinals from the majors through the entire minor league system.

Brian Walton can be reached via email at brian@thecardinalnation.com or for fastest turnaround, pose your questions on The Cardinal Nation’s members-only forum. Follow Brian on Twitter.

© 2020 The Cardinal Nation, thecardinalnation.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.