Wainwright: Man of the Year Award Finalist

photo: Adam Wainwright (Brian Walton/The Cardinal Nation)

MLB Players Association news release

Players selected José Abreu, Shane Bieber and Freddie Freeman as finalists for Major League Baseball’s Player of the Year and Nelson Cruz, Jason Heyward and Adam Wainwright as nominees for Marvin Miller Man of the Year in voting for the 2020 Players Choice Awards.

Adam Wainwright

The Players Choice Awards are held in high regard by players because the winners are selected in balloting among their peers. In addition to the Marvin Miller Man of the Year and Player of the Year award winners, who represent both leagues, players in the American and National Leagues choose their outstanding players, pitchers, rookies and comeback players.

All told, the 2020 Players Choice Award winners will designate charities to receive grants totaling $55,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards recipients by contributing more than $5 million to charities around the world.

Marvin Miller

In balloting for the Marvin Miller Award, players are asked to vote for the player they “most respect based on his leadership on the field and in the community.” Curtis Granderson, who retired after the 2019 season, won the award four times. Other recent honorees include Anthony Rizzo (2017), Adam Jones (2015), Clayton Kershaw (2014) and Mariano Rivera (2013).

The award is dedicated to Marvin Miller, who served as the Major League Baseball Players Association’s first full-time executive director, from 1966 through 1982, and guided its emergence as one of the country’s strongest and most cohesive labor unions.

Below are all the finalists:

Outstanding Player Award

National League players: Mookie Betts, Freddie Freeman and Juan Soto
American League players: José Abreu, DJ LeMahieu and Mike Trout

Outstanding Pitcher Award

National League players: Trevor Bauer, Yu Darvish and Jacob deGrom
American League players: Shane Bieber, Gerrit Cole and Lance Lynn

Outstanding Rookie Award

National League players: Alec Bohm, Jake Cronenworth and Devin Williams
American League player: James Karinchak, Kyle Lewis and Luis Robert

Comeback Player Award

National League players: Daniel Bard, Adam Duvall and Wil Myers
American League players: Carlos Carrasco, Salvador Perez and José Ramírez

The Marvin Miller Award winner receives a $10,000 grant, while the recipients of the nine other awards receive grants of $5,000.

Through their collective charity, players pool resources to support efforts that provide hope, sustainability and lasting change around the world. Players direct grants to the wide range of causes they support – from disaster relief to health and human services to promoting the growth of baseball in the United States and abroad.

Players Choice Awards voting among all players was conducted in mid-September. Winners will be announced Oct. 22.

For more information on the 2020 Players Choice Awards, be sure to visit the link here.


Major Leaguers contribute their time, money and celebrity to call attention to important causes. Each year the Players Trust distributes more than $1 million in annual grants and programs. For additional information, please visit www.PlayersTrust.org. Follow the Trust on Twitter (@MLBPlayersTrust) and Instagram (@mlbplayerstrust).

October 22 update

Exclusively for members of The Cardinal Nation

The Calendar Works Against a Quick Return of Wainwright and Molina

Not yet a member?

Join The Cardinal Nation for the most comprehensive coverage of the St. Louis Cardinals from the majors through the entire minor league system.

© 2020 The Cardinal Nation, thecardinalnation.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.