Mike Shildt is the 2019 National League Manager of the Year

photo: Mike Shildt (Jeff Curry/USA TODAY Sports)

St. Louis Cardinals press release

St. Louis Cardinals Manager Mike Shildt was named this evening (Tuesday, November 12) as the recipient of the 2019 National League Manager of the Year Award as voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).  Shildt, who this season guided the Cardinals to their first N.L. Central title since 2015, joins Hall of Fame managers Whitey Herzog (1985) and Tony La Russa (2002) as Cardinals recipients of the BBWAA award.

Mike Shildt (Steve Mitchell/Imagn)

Shildt guided the Cardinals to a share of their 12th N.L. Central title in his first full season at the helm, overseeing a transformation of the team’s defense with record-setting performances, as the Cardinals became the first Major League team in history to go from worst to first in errors in back-to-back seasons.  The Cardinals went 91-71 in 2019 while advancing to the N.L. Championship Series, and are 132-99 (.571 winning pct.) under Shildt since he was named interim manager on July 15, 2018.

“We are extremely happy for ‘Shildty’ for having been voted the recipient of this well-deserved honor,” stated Cardinals’ President of Baseball Operations John Mozeliak. “Mike and his staff are extremely committed to providing Cardinals fans with a winning style of play that is focused on all facets of the game, and it showed thru this past season.”

Having first joined the Cardinals organization in 2004 as an Area Scout, Shildt advanced thru the team’s player development system, and managed his teams to minor league championships in 2010 and 2011 at rookie-level Johnson City and in 2012 at Springfield of the Texas League (AA).   Shildt was named the Appalachian League Manager of the Year in 2010, the same year he was honored as the recipient of the Cardinals George Kissell Award for excellence in player development.

Shildt, 51, was signed last week to a new three-year contract that extends thru the 2022 season.

Baseball Writers’ Association of America press release

Here are the voting results of the 2019 National League Manager of the Year Award. Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

Manager Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Mike Shildt Cardinals 10 14 3 95
Craig Counsell Brewers 13 6 5 88
Brian Snitker Braves 3 6 12 45
Dave Roberts Dodgers 4 1 2 25
Dave Martinez Nationals 3 6 15
Torey Lovullo Diamondbacks 2 2

This was only the second election in Manager of the Year voting history in which the winner did not receive the most first-place votes. The only other time was in the American League in 1995 when the Mariners ’Lou Piniella had nine first-place votes to 11 for the Red Sox’ Kevin Kennedy but won on total points, 86-74.

Shildt is the first Manager of the Year Award winner who did not play on the professional level. He is also the eighth winner not to have played in the major leagues. The others were three-time winners Jim Leyland, Joe Maddon and Buck Showalter, two-time winner Jack McKeon as well as Jim Frey, John McNamara and last year’s winner, Brian Snitker, who finished third in this year’s election.

Counsell was the runner-up for the second consecutive year, marking the fourth time in NL voting that a manager ran second two straight years, along with the Reds’ Davey Johnson in 1994 and ’95, the Cardinals’ Tony La Russa in 2004 and ’05 and the Phillies’ Charlie Manuel in 2007 and ’08. In the AL, the Athletics’ Art Howe finished second four consecutive years from 1999-2002. Other AL managers to finish second in consecutive years were the Twins’ Ron Gardenhire two times, in 2003 and ’04 and in 2008 and ’09, and the Royals’ Dick Howser in 1984 and ’85.

It marks the third time a Cardinals manager has been honored. The other St. Louis winners were Whitey Herzog in 1985 and La Russa in 2002.

The Brewers have never had a Manager of the Year winner in either league. In addition to Counsell, other Brewers runners-up were Tom Trebelhorn in 1987 and Phil Garner in 1992 in the AL and Ron Roenicke in 2011 in the NL.

No manager was named on every ballot.

Previous winners:

2018 Brian Snitker, Braves; 2017 Torey Lovullo, Diamondbacks; 2016 Dave Roberts, Dodgers; 2015 Joe Maddon, Cubs; 2014 Matt Williams, Nationals; 2013 Clint Hurdle, Pirates; 2012 Davey Johnson, Nationals; 2011 Kirk Gibson, Diamondbacks; 2010 Bud Black, Padres, 2009 Jim Tracy, Rockies; 2008 Lou Piniella, Cubs; 2007 Bob Melvin, Diamondbacks; 2006 Joe Girardi, Marlins; 2005 Bobby Cox, Braves; 2004 Bobby Cox, Braves; 2003 Jack McKeon, Marlins; 2002 Tony La Russa, Cardinals; 2001 Larry Bowa, Phillies; 2000 Dusty Baker, Giants; 1999 Jack McKeon, Reds; 1998 Larry Dierker, Astros; 1997 Dusty Baker, Giants; 1996 Bruce Bochy, Padres; 1995 Don Baylor, Rockies; 1994 Felipe Alou, Expos; 1993 Dusty Baker, Giants; 1992 Jim Leyland, Pirates; 1991 Bobby Cox, Braves; 1990 Jim Leyland, Pirates; 1989 Don Zimmer, Cubs; 1988 Tommy Lasorda, Dodgers; 1987 Buck Rogers, Expos; 1986 Hal Lanier, Astros; 1985 Whitey Herzog, Cardinals; 1984 Jim Frey, Cubs; 1983 Tommy Lasorda, Dodgers.