Cardinals Declining Ratings and Empty Seats

Home The Cardinal Nation Forums Open Forum Cardinals Declining Ratings and Empty Seats

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    BlackHillsCard
    Participant

Free

So a lot was made about the number of increasing empty seats this year. Sure the attendance figures released showed great paid attendance with the Cardinals coming in second place again in the entire league, but as we can see from our own eyes those numbers were misleading because if you watched the games on tv or at the stadium you could see the large section of the stadium with only a handful of fans. Additionally, the Cardinals discounted tickets for several games and included more promotional nights. Now, however, we’ve gotten reports that the TV ratings for Cardinals games also went backwards.

So what gives? I’m not an expert but I believe there are several factors that played into this:
    1. Dish Network & Sling TV cutting off Cardinals Games and FSMW
    2. The Matheny years cannot be taken lightly regarding the frustration of the fanbase
    3. The lack of offense cannot be understated
    4. The Cardinals Broadcast itself isn’t really that good. Switching the camera angel, the broadcast team talking how bad the game is, guys yacking about nonsense, and the game taking longer to play than ever before (BTW great job by Manfred…he tried to fix the game length and it got worse)
    5. Blues Hangover
    6. An aging team where the star players are old and didn’t perform well

mudville
    Participant

Paid - Annual